Low winter sun lights up ruins of Kilchurn Castle on Loch Awe. Built by Sir Colin Campbell of Glenorchy in 1440.
Kilchurn appears to have had a relatively trouble free history, apart from once being briefly besieged when garrisoned by Sir John, 1st Earl of Breadalbane, whilst supporting the government against the Earl of Argyll’s invasion of 1685 and whilst garrisoning again by government troops at the time of the 1715 and 1745 Jacobite uprisings. Struck by lightening in 1769, and losing its roof in 1770, the castle soon fell into a state of decay. It now stands as a splendid romantic ruin on a small peninsula along the banks of the north -east end of Loch Awe, about 2.5 miles west of Dalmally off A85. Kilchurn Castle originally built as a five storey Tower House, that survives largely intact at the eastern end of the site.
Purchase benefits the John Muir Trust for re-forestation efforts on the Isle of Skye where the Cuillin belong to everyone.